Quick Answer: What Is The Primary Mountain Range In South America?

Which is the mountain range of South America?


Andes Mountains
Coordinates 32°S 70°WCoordinates: 32°S 70°W
Length 7,000 km (4,350 mi)
Width 500 km (311 mi)


Are the Andes and Rockies the same range?

The Rocky Mountains are part of the longest mountain range in the world. They run down the western part of North America, from Alaska to Mexico and continue as the Andes Mountains in South America. The Rocky Mountains are almost 5,000 km long and, in the central part of the USA, almost 500 km wide.

Which mountain range is found at the southern tip of South America?

The Andes consist of a vast series of extremely high plateaus surmounted by even higher peaks that form an unbroken rampart over a distance of some 5,500 miles (8,900 kilometres)—from the southern tip of South America to the continent’s northernmost coast on the Caribbean.

You might be interested:  FAQ: How Many Pages Is Cold Mountain?

What is the second highest mountain range in South America?

Child Range High Points
Rank Peak Name Range2
1. Aconcagua Andes
2. Pico Cristóbal Colón Coastal South America
3. Pico da Neblina Guiana Highlands

What is the largest mountain range in South America?

Andes: World’s Longest Mountain Range

  • The south face of Aconcagua, the highest peak in South America, at 22,841 feet (6,962 meters) above sea level. (
  • The Andes Mountains stretch about 4,500 miles along the western coast of South America. (
  • Machu Picchu was an Incan retreat for its emperor. (
  • A male Andean condor flies above the highlands of Ecuador. (

Does South America have mountains?

South America’s primary mountain system, the Andes, is also the world’s longest. The range covers about 8,850 kilometers (5,500 miles). Situated on the far western edge of the continent, the Andes stretch from the southern tip to the northernmost coast of South America. High plateaus are also a feature of the Andes.

Which is the largest mountain range in the world?

The mid-ocean ridge is the longest mountain range on Earth. The longest mountain range on Earth is called the mid-ocean ridge. Spanning 40,389 miles around the globe, it’s truly a global landmark. About 90 percent of the mid-ocean ridge system is under the ocean.

What are the four major mountain ranges?

Appalachian Mountains, the Rocky Mountains, and the Sierra Nevada. The Appalachian Mountains run for 1,500 miles along the east coast of the United States from northern Alabama to Maine.

What is the 2nd longest mountain range in the world?


You might be interested:  Where The Mountain Meets The Moon Audio?
Rank Range Continent
1 Andes South America
2 Southern Great Escarpment Africa
3 Rocky Mountains North America
4 Transantarctic Mountains Antarctica

What South American city has the highest elevation?

List of South American cities by elevation

Ranked Town / City Height (ft)
1 La Rinconada Cojata Peru 4553 16728
2 Parinacota 14435
3 Mina Pirquitas 14240
4 Cerro de Pasco 14232


Why is South America called the land of extremes?

Answer. HEY DEAR!! In geographic terms, it has some of the hottest, driest deserts in the world (the Atacama and Sonoran deserts) while having the largest rain-forest in the world (the Amazon). This too applies to several other physical features.

Which Southern American country is divided by a river into two regions?

Paraguay is a country in South America, bordering Brazil, Argentina and Bolivia. The Paraguay River (Spanish: Río Paraguay ) divides the country into strikingly different eastern and western regions.

What are 2 mountain ranges in South America?

Major Mountain Ranges Of South America

  • Andes Mountains. The Andes Mountains is a large mountain range that extends through six countries, which are Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Argentina, Chile, and Venezuela.
  • Cordillera Blanca.
  • Serra do Mar.
  • Cordillera Paine.
  • Wilhelmina Mountains.

What is the highest road in South America?

Highest roads of South America

Mountain pass Elevation Surface
Aconcagua 6.961m (22,838 ft) Gravel
Ojos del Salado 6.891m (22,608 ft) Gravel
Cerro Uturuncu 6.008 m (19,711 ft) Gravel
Volcan Tacora 5.980m (19,620 ft) Gravel


What are the 7 peaks?

The ‘ Seven Summits ‘ are comprised of the highest mountains on each of the seven continents of the Earth: Everest, Aconcagua, Denali, Kilimanjaro, Elbrus, Mount Vinson and Carstensz Pyramid.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *